# MINUTES OF THE SPELTHORNE BOROUGH COUNCIL

Minutes of the Council Meeting of Spelthorne Borough Council held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Knowle Green, Staines-upon-Thames on Monday, 21 August 2017 at 7.30 pm

#### Present:

## Councillors:

M.M. Attewell	A.E. Friday	D. Patel
C.B. Barnard	N.J. Gething	J.M. Pinkerton OBE
I.J. Beardsmore	A.C. Harman	J.R. Sexton
R. Chandler	I.T.E. Harvey	R.W. Sider BEM
C.A. Davis	N. Islam	R.A. Smith-Ainsley
S.A. Dunn	A.T. Jones	B.B. Spoor
Q.R. Edgington	J.G. Kavanagh	H.A. Thomson
T.J.M. Evans	M.J. Madams	H.R.D. Williams
P.C. Forbes-Forsyth	A.J. Mitchell	
M.P.C. Francis	S.C. Mooney	

Councillor V.J. Leighton, The Mayor, in the Chair

## Apologies:

Apologies were received from Councillors R.O. Barratt, J.R. Boughtflower, S.J. Burkmar, S. Capes, S.M. Doran, Mr Murray Litvak, O. Rybinski, D. Saliagopoulos and A. Sapunovas and Mr. Murray Litvak and Miss Sue Faulkner the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Members' Code of Conduct Committee.

#### 513/17 Disclosures of Interest

The Leader, Councillor I.T.E. Harvey declared an interest on behalf of the Conservative Group that the Chief Executive of the consultants involved with the appointment process, Mike Brennan, is Chairman of the Spelthorne Conservative Association. He confirmed that Mr Brennan played no part in the recruitment process.

514/17 Appointment of Chief Executive and Head of Paid Service
The Council considered the recommendation of the Appointments Committee
from its meetings held on 17 and 18 July 2017, on the appointment of a new
Chief Executive and Head of Paid Service.

In accordance with Standing Order 22.4, Councillor I.T.E. Harvey called for a recorded vote to be taken on the motion before the Council.

# The voting was as follows:

For (23)	Councillors I.T.E. Harvey (Leader), A.C. Harman (Deputy Leader), M.M. Attewell, C.B. Barnard, R. Chandler, C.A. Davis, T.J.M. Evans, M.P.C. Francis, A.E. Friday, N.J. Gething, N. Islam, A.T. Jones, J.G. Kavanagh, V.J. Leighton (Mayor), M.J. Madams, A.J. Mitchell, S.C. Mooney, D. Patel, J.M. Pinkerton (Deputy Mayor), R.W. Sider, R.A. Smith-Ainsley, H.A. Thomson and H.R.D. Williams.
Against (4)	Councillors Q.R. Edgington, P.C. Forbes-Forsyth, J.R. Sexton and B.B. Spoor.
Abstain (2)	Councillors I.J. Beardsmore, and S.A. Dunn.

**Resolved** that Daniel Mouawad be appointed as Chief Executive and Head of the Paid Service of Spelthorne Borough Council.

As a consequence of this decision it was necessary for the Council to consider the report of the Principal Solicitor on interim arrangements for Electoral Registration Officer and Returning Officer functions, which had been circulated on the supplementary Council agenda at the meeting.

**Resolved** to appoint Michael Graham (Head of Corporate Governance) as Interim Electoral Registration Officer / Interim Returning Officer with effect from 8 September 2017 to the 7 September 2018.